Home Bangladesh How new cabinet will be formed
Bangladesh - January 9, 2024

How new cabinet will be formed

Farhad Chowdhury : Awami League is going to form the government for the fourth consecutive time with an absolute majority. With this, the party is going to form the government for the fifth time under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina.
Out of 300 seats in the election, two are pending. The private results of remaining 298 seats are available. Awami League won 224 of them.
Like the previous four times, Sheikh Hasina is taking charge as the prime minister – there is no doubt about this in the Awami League.
In a press conference at Dhaka district Awami League office in Tejgaon on Monday, party general secretary Obaidul Quader said that Sheikh Hasina is going to become the prime minister for the fourth time in a row and the fifth time in total. Ambassadors of different countries including India, Russia, China, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka met and congratulated her.
According to the rules, the election commission will administer the oath to the MPs after issuing the gazette. After that, the members of parliament will meet and elect the leader of the parliamentary party. The President will call on the leader of the majority party in the Parliament to form the government. First, the Prime Minister will be sworn in. After that, the appointed ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers will take oath from among the parliamentarians. The oath-taking ceremony will be conducted by the Secretary of the Cabinet Division. After the swearing-in, a notification will be issued by allocating office from the cabinet department. And through this the journey of the new government will begin.
Article 56 of the Constitution states that the Cabinet will consist of a Prime Minister. A Member of Parliament who appears to the President to be a confidant of the majority of Members of Parliament, shall be appointed by the President as Prime Minister. Other Ministers, State Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be as determined by the Prime Minister. Prime Minister, other ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers are appointed by the president.
When can it be formed?
Minister of State for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid said that the cabinet of the new government may be formed by January 15. He said, I think it will be formed by January 15.
How was cabinet for 3 consecutive terms?
The Ninth National Assembly elections were held on 29 December 2008 under the caretaker government system. In that election, the Awami League-led coalition government formed the government by getting 263 seats.
On January 6, 2009, Sheikh Hasina was sworn in as Prime Minister and formed a 32-member cabinet. After 18 days, six more people joined the cabinet. After two years and 10 months, two more were made ministers.
On January 5, 2014, the 10th National Assembly elections were held. Voting was held in total 147 constituencies in this election. BNP and the alliance led by it boycotted the elections. Awami League and its partner parties won unopposed in 153 seats.
On January 12 of that year, a new cabinet was formed with Sheikh Hasina as the prime minister. Then most of the old ministers were excluded and the government was formed with the relatively new and senior leaders of the party who were left out during the previous government.
Apart from the Prime Minister, 29 ministers, 17 state ministers and two deputy ministers were appointed in that cabinet. Later the size of the cabinet was further increased.
Awami League came to power for the third consecutive term through the elections of December 30, 2018. However, there are many questions and controversies about this election. Awami League, Jatiya Party and allies got 288 seats in the election. BNP and Oikya Front got only seven. Others get three seats.
The Cabinet was formed on January 6, 2019. The size of the cabinet including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is 47 people. 31 of them were new faces. Besides, many who were in the cabinet formed after the 2008 elections also got a place in this cabinet.

Check Also

Govt plans to borrow Tk 2.5 tr for budgetary support in FY 2025

Mahfuja Mukul: Government’s dependence on debt to meet development and operational expendi…