Home Bangladesh Who can come to the new cabinet
Bangladesh - January 9, 2024

Who can come to the new cabinet

Staff Correspondent : Awami League got a single majority by winning 222 seats in the 12th National Parliament elections. As a result of this absolute victory, the party is going to form the government for the fourth time in a row. Members of parliament will take oath tomorrow. And the new cabinet will take oath on Thursday evening.
It is known from various sources of Awami League that Sheikh Hasina will take charge as the Prime Minister this time like the previous four times. However, there are various discussions about who is getting a place in the cabinet.
Several sources close to the Awami League and the government say that the ‘clean image’ and experienced members of the current cabinet can get a place in the new cabinet. And the senior and retired leaders of the party will join again.
It is known that Awami League general secretary and bridge minister Obaidul Quader, joint general secretary and information minister Dr. Hasan Mahmud, Planning Minister MA Mannan, Agriculture Minister Abdur Razzak, Local Government Minister Tajul Islam, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal,
Law Minister Anisul Haque, Education Minister Dr. Dipu Moni and Land Minister Saifuzzaman Chowdhury may get a place in the new cabinet.
On the other hand, Minister of State for Electricity, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid, State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam, State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain, State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Junaid Ahmed Palak, State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, Deputy Minister for Education Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Naufel and Deputy Minister for Water Resources AKM Enamul Haque Shamim may join the new cabinet.
The former Minister of State for Planning Shamsul Alam can become a member of the cabinet again in the technocrat quota. Sheikh Hasina can also make Jamalpur-5 (Sadar) Constituency MP and Prime Minister’s former Principal Secretary Abul Kalam Azad and Narail-2 Constituency MP and cricket star Mashrafe Bin Mutarza as ministers.
According to Awami League party sources, Amir Hossain Amu, a member of the advisory council and one of the coordinators of the 14 parties, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, a member of the presidium, joint general secretary AFM Bahauddin Nashim, organizing secretary Mirza Azam, science and technology affairs secretary Engineer Abdus Sabur, information and research Editor Dr. Salim Mahmood, member secretary of the media cell and party central committee member Mohammad A. Arafat are also in talks to become ministers.
Asked how this year’s cabinet could be, local government minister Tajul Islam said, “Our prime minister is a very wise person.” He has fixed the development targets of the country. He knows where to take whom and when. It is decided by the Prime Minister himself. This is the rule all over the world.
A senior Awami League leader told on condition of anonymity that the Prime Minister will decide who will be in the cabinet. He made a decision very carefully. It will be the same in this case.
How new cabinet will be formed
According to the rules, the election commission will administer the oath to the MPs after issuing the gazette. After that, the members of parliament will meet and elect the leader of the parliamentary party. The President will call on the leader of the majority party in the Parliament to form the government. First, the Prime Minister will be sworn in. After that, appointed ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers will take oath. The Cabinet Secretary will conduct the oath-taking ceremony. After the swearing-in, a notification will be issued by allocating office from the cabinet department. And through this the journey of the new government will begin.
Article 56 of the Constitution states that the Cabinet shall consist of a Prime Minister, who shall appear to the President to be the confidant of the majority of the members of the Parliament, the President shall appoint him as the Prime Minister. Other Ministers, State Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be as determined by the Prime Minister. Prime Minister, other ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers are appointed by the president.
Awami League joint general secretary and information minister. Hasan Mahmud said that the prime minister has the authority to form the cabinet. After taking the oath of parliament members, the leader of the parliamentary party has to be elected. It must be Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. After he is elected as the leader, he has to inform the President to form the government. Then when he gave his approval, the government was formed.
How was previous 3-term cabinet?
The Ninth National Assembly elections were held on 29 December 2008 under the caretaker government system. The Awami League-led grand coalition government formed the government by getting 263 seats in that election.
Sheikh Hasina was sworn in as Prime Minister on January 6, 2009 and formed a cabinet of 32 members. After 18 days, six more people joined the cabinet. After two years and 10 months, two more people were made ministers.
On January 5, 2014, the 10th National Assembly elections were held. Voting was held in total 147 constituencies in this election. BNP and its led alliance boycotted the elections. Awami League and its partner parties won unopposed in 153 seats.
On January 12 of that year, a new cabinet was formed with Sheikh Hasina as the prime minister. Then most of the old ministers were excluded and the government was formed with the relatively new and senior leaders of the party who were left out during the previous government.
Apart from the Prime Minister, 29 ministers, 17 state ministers and two deputy ministers were appointed in that cabinet. Later the size of the cabinet was further increased.
Awami League came to power for the third consecutive term through the elections of December 30, 2018. However, there are many questions and controversies about this election. Awami League, Jatiya Party and allies got 288 seats in the election. BNP and Oikya Front got only seven seats. Besides, others get three seats.
The Cabinet was formed on January 6, 2019. The size of the cabinet including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is 47 people, 31 of them were new faces. Besides, many who were in the cabinet formed after the 2008 elections also got a place in this cabinet.

Check Also

Tk 3,000 cr business targets from third terminal of HSIA

To be opened in Dec for use Mahfuz Emran: The newly constructed third terminal is more tha…