Home Bangladesh DCs-SPs under surveillance of EC
Bangladesh - December 12, 2023

DCs-SPs under surveillance of EC

Staff Correspondent : The government has changed the posts of Deputy Commissioners (DCs) of three districts, two divisional commissioners and SPs of five districts on the instructions of the Election Commission (EC) ahead of the upcoming National Assembly elections. EC has launched a spontaneous inquiry into more DC-SPs across the country. They are also being kept under surveillance. Besides, several candidates have complained in the name of DC-SPs along with the Chief Election Commissioner. Taking these allegations into consideration, the EC has launched an investigation.
Those concerned say that if the EC investigation proves that the SP-DC is working for or against any candidate, then the transfer will be done. DC-SPs will be transferred expeditiously if any such behavior is found to create obstacles in the field of fair and impartial polling. In this case, the EC wants to continue the matter till the election without giving any concession.
In this context, Election Commission Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath told that the transfer of DC-SPs is not new, it is an ongoing process.
Dismissal will be done if the commission is not neutral or works against any candidate. If any candidate complains against any DC-SP we will investigate. If the investigation proves that the DC-SP is creating obstacles in fair and impartial polling, then the transfer will be done. We will take action only if there is evidence in the investigation.
According to the EC, the leaders of MonirampurUpazila Awami League have submitted a written application to the Election Commission (EC) Secretariat demanding the transfer of Jessore Superintendent of Police (SP) Praloy Kumar Jowardar. The EC is investigating the matter. Complaints have been lodged against several such SPs. The EC is also investigating them. Election Commission (EC) wants more major changes in field administration and police. As a part of this, the commission sent separate letters to the Public Security Department of the Ministry of Public Administration and Ministry of Home Affairs to transfer all the UpazilaNirbahi Officers (UNO) and Police Officers in Charge (OC) of the country.
It is known that most of the current Ministers, State Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Members of Parliament have been candidates in the 12th National Parliament Elections. Due to the fact that many field administration and police officers have been staying at the same place for a long time, they have formed friendships with many. Involved in various interests. In this situation, the Election Commission has taken this position to maintain the neutrality of the administration and police officers. As part of this, State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain was transferred to SP of the district. The newly transferred police superintendent of MeherpurRafiul Alam was serving in Meherpur for the last 29 months. Similarly, the EC said that the SP-DC of the area of several ministers-state ministers may be transferred.
According to EC sources, Election Commissioner Brigadier General (Retd.) Md. Ahsan Habib Khan, Rasheda Sultana, Md. Alamgir and Md. Anisur Rahman went to district to district and held meetings with officials of field administration and law enforcement. UNO and police station OCs are also called in these meetings. The four commissioners went on a district-to-district tour and found allegations of various biases against many officials of the field administration. They also held an informal meeting on the matter in the commission. There are discussions about major changes. The matter was informed to the concerned ministry.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission (EC) has ordered the withdrawal of Barisal and Sylhet Metropolitan Police Commissioners, five SPs, three OCs and one Deputy Commissioner.
EC deputy secretary Mizanur Rahman has sent separate letters of instructions to the Public Security Department and the Senior Secretary of the Public Administration Ministry.
In the letter, the SP of Habiganj, Pirojpur, Noakhali, Satkhira and Meherpur along with two police commissioners have been instructed to withdraw. Besides, the EC has also withdrawn the Deputy Commissioner of Brahmanbaria and the Officer-in-Charge (OC) of Manikganj Sadar, Singair and Sreepur police stations and asked the concerned authorities to post appropriate officers in their place.
The EC official said, Section 44 (e) of the Representation of People’s Order (RPO) vests the jurisdiction to transfer government officials after the announcement of the election schedule. According to that section, the EC can direct the concerned authority to transfer any officer-employee of any government department or organization in the interest of fair elections. It is the responsibility of that authority to implement the instructions as soon as possible after receiving them. Article 126 of the Constitution states that it is the duty of the Executive to provide all assistance to the Commission.
Several EC officials said that the four commissioners received serious complaints against several officials during their field visit. DC-SP is also in that list. They have been asked to withdraw from election duties. However, the list of their names was not found. Besides, the commission has decided to transfer and punish the officials against whom the allegations of bias in the elections are proved. This process will continue.

Check Also

Govt plans to borrow Tk 2.5 tr for budgetary support in FY 2025

Mahfuja Mukul: Government’s dependence on debt to meet development and operational expendi…